EUSR SHEA Power Training Course

The SHEA Power scheme is designed for individuals who require access to operational sites within the power industry, both permanent and temporary, at all levels including operatives, supervisors and management.

What is the EUSR SHEA Power Training Course

Course overview

The SHEA Power scheme comprises of eight modules. Six modules are ‘core’ modules and are relevant for all utility industries and support workplace practice in relation to health, safety and environmental law. Two modules provide the power industry specific content.  It is designed to provide evidence that an individual has demonstrated an appropriate level of knowledge, understanding and behavioural awareness. Individuals must complete all eight modules and pass the SHEA Power assessment to gain EUSR SHEA Power registration. It is an Energy & Utility Skills Passport scheme and does not indicate any level of technical competence or skilled expertise.

Course duration

The course is delivered over one day.

Course content

The course comprises eight modules, these are: -

  • Module 1: Power generation and distribution
  • Module 2: Understanding our workplace responsibilities
  • Module 3: Understanding the effects of our work on the environment
  • Module 4: Identifying and controlling risks
  • Module 5: Common hazards in the workplace
  • Module 6: Occupational health hazards
  • Module 7: Power industry hazards 
  • Module 8: Responding to emergencies


Course assessments

Each module is assessed through a multiple-choice test, set by EU Skills and marked by the Trainer during the day of the programme.

In order to effectively progress and complete the programme, individuals will be required to have knowledge and understanding relevant to all assessment criteria within each module

Qualifications & certification

Successful delegates will receive the formal SHEA Power Passport Card.